I Have to Travel Significant Distances for My Medical Treatment. Am I Entitled to Additional Compensation?
For many North Carolinians, medical treatment centers may not be conveniently located. If you live out in the country, you could end up driving miles into the city every time you need to visit your doctor — And as we’ve mentioned before on our blog, frequent visits with your doctor can be incredibly important for maintaining your benefits. All that driving will be putting extra miles on your car, not to mention the additional money you’ll have to pay in gas.
The good news is that if you have to travel 20 miles or more round-trip for your medical treatment, you may be entitled to compensation for your mileage. This includes travel completed during the first seven days following your accident, when compensation for work is not yet due.
In order to claim compensation for travel, you must file a Form 25T with the North Carolina Industrial Commission to track your medical mileage. It is important to keep track of your mileage to ensure you are properly compensated. North Carolina adjusts the rate of reimbursement each year, so you may receive a different amount based on when you had to travel. As of January 1, 2016 the rate is $0.54 per mile.
If you have to travel more than 20 miles round-trip to receive medical treatment for your work injury, you may be eligible for compensation for that mileage. If you have any questions don’t hesitate to contact one of our experienced attorneys.
I’ve Been Injured on the Job and Cannot Go Back To Work! When Will I Start Receiving Compensation Checks?
After you’re injured on the job, we know that funds can be tight. From medical bills, to not being able to return to work, to the general expenses of daily life, a work injury can lead to tough financial situations for yourself and your family — leaving you wondering, “When will I start receiving my workers’ compensation checks?”
Under the Workers’ Compensation Act, “no compensation shall be allowed for the first seven calendar days of a disability resulting from an injury.” This means you’ll be waiting at least a week. In this time, we recommend reaching out to an attorney — the sooner the better. In the event that your injury leaves you disabled for more than 21 days, you may be allowed compensation from the date of your disability.
While you are allowed to use sick days or vacation days to cover the first week you’re out of work due to your work injury, you are not required to use this limited resource. Constantly, we see employers and insurers misinforming injured workers about their use of paid time off.
Hiring a lawyer early on in the process will ensure that you’ve got someone on your side who understands all the laws and nuances of dealing with a workman’s compensation case. With more than $275m in settlements and awards, we have the experience to guide you through the workers’ compensation process and ensure that your rights are being protected.
By law, you are not able to receive workman’s compensation until a week after your injury. If you have any questions about the workers’ compensation process, don’t hesitate to contact an experienced attorney.
What Happens When My Workers’ Compensation Adjuster Does Not Pay Me On Time?
For an injured worker, weekly workers’ compensation benefits are essential for paying the bills and putting food on the table for a family. Not knowing when your weekly check will arrive can put added stress on an injured worker. Unfortunately, there’s a good chance your insurance adjuster won’t pay you on time. And to add insult to injury, in most cases, there’s nothing you can do to force them to pay on time because there is no law saying they have to pay you on the due date.
In the case of self-insured employers, they are often required to periodically send money to the insurance company. In those instances, we’ve heard adjusters use the excuse that they are waiting for money from the employer — but at the end of the day, that’s just an excuse. Ultimately it’s the adjuster’s responsibility to make sure they receive their payments and have the necessary resources to make sure that you are being paid.
By law, workers’ compensation insurance must pay you within 14 days of the date the check is due. If the insurer does not pay you in that time, you may request a 10 percent penalty against the workers’ compensation insurance by filing a motion with the North Carolina Industrial Commission.
While the insurance companies are not required to pay on time, they are required to pay you eventually. If an insurance company is withholding checks from you, or taking more than two weeks to pay you, be sure to contact an experienced attorney. We work with you to make sure that your rights are being protected.
When it comes to dealing with insurance companies, it’s always good to have a partner who’s got your back. Even better to have one who also understands the fine print surrounding workman’s comp. With more than $275m in awards and settlements, Oxner + Permar has the experience to fight for you.